Click to preview All Alaska Sweepstakes photo book

The 2008 Centennial All Alaska Sweepstakes offered the richest purse in sled dog racing history: $100,000 winner take all!

The top dog drivers entered their best teams for the grueling 408 mile race from Nome to Candle, across the windswept Seward Peninsula on the far western edge of Alaska.

Lance Mackey, the legendary reigning world champion of long distance mushing; Jeff King, four-time winner of the 1,000 mile Iditarod; Sonny Lindner, part of the team which won the last All Alaska Sweepstakes race a quarter of a century before...

One hundred years after its gold rush beginnings, the All Alaska Sweepstakes once again made headlines around the world as sixteen intrepid mushers and their teams braved the challenges of the trail to take home riches - and the richest title in sled dog racing history!


About the Author

Northern Light Media
HelenHegener Wasilla, Alaska

Northern Light Media produces books and an occasional documentary DVD about long distance sled dog racing and other Alaskan subjects. Our most recent book was a collection of stories about sled dog travel in early Alaska, and our current book in progress is about the 1930's Matanuska Colony barns near Palmer, Alaska.

Comments (0)


Blurb Sites

© 2014 Blurb